This website is scheduled to undergo routine maintenance on Saturday, 23 September 5:00 p.m.-11:00 p.m. CDT. During this time, you may not be able to schedule, reschedule or cancel test appointments. We apologize for this inconvenience and thank you for your patience.
Site Closures:

Due to natural disasters in the United States, India, and the Caribbean islands, we are experiencing site closures in some areas. We are working diligently to contact all affected candidates by email and phone. If you have questions about your appointment, please contact customer service. We appreciate your patience.

Fortinet Certification Testing

As companies around the world continue to invest in their security infrastructures, they look for ways to verify the knowledge and skills of their network security staff. In response, Fortinet offers an 8-level certification program designed for technical professionals to validate their network security skills and experience with Fortinet products and services.



NSE4 designation certifies that individuals have the expertise necessary to manage day-to-day configuration, monitoring, and operation of FortiGate devices to support specific corporate network security policies.

The NSE 4 exam content is covered in the FortiGate I and FortiGate II courses, which are the recommended courses to prepare for the exam.

The NSE 4 exam based on FortiOS 5.2 will be retired May 31. The NSE4-5.4 exam includes content covered in the FortiGate courses taught since December 2016.


NSE 5 designation certifies that individuals have the expertise necessary to use FortiManager and FortiAnalyzer to centrally manage enterprise and MSSP deployments with large numbers of Fortinet network security devices, and to provide analysis and reporting.

View information about NSE 5 »


NSE 6 designation recognizes both broad and in-depth skills with advanced network security technologies beyond the firewall, such as FortiWeb and FortiMail.

Specialist designation is earned by successfully passing one of the product-specific exams.

NSE 6 designation is earned by either passing four or more separate Specialist exams, or by taking one NSE 6 exam where the candidate chooses which four products will be in their test.

The NSE 6 exam content is covered in various preparation courses such as FortiWeb.

View information about NSE 6 »


NSE 7 designation certifies that individuals have the expertise to isolate, diagnose, and fix the most common issues in networks with FortiGate devices, and to configure more advanced features often used in large networks such as OSPF routing. NSE 7 individuals demonstrate deep knowledge of FortiGate, FortiAnalyzer, and FortiManager, and sophisticated troubleshooting.

The NSE 7 exam content is covered in the FortiGate III course, which is the recommended course to prepare for the exam.

View information about NSE 7 »

NSE 8 Written

The NSE 8 designation recognizes a candidate’s broad and in-depth expertise to manage, design, implement and troubleshoot comprehensive network security solutions in complex enterprise networks.

The NSE 8 exams are for those who are truly experts in network security and Fortinet’s suite of security products. The process to prepare for the exam can be costly and very time consuming. In addition to formal training, you should have experience in a variety of complex networks, solving complicated security problems.

The NSE 8 designation is earned by taking a written exam and a practical exam. This exam is the written portion of the NSE 8 designation. Passing the written exam qualifies you for the practical exam, available at Fortinet locations.

View information about NSE 8 »

Please visit Fortinet’s Certification site for full program information.

Test Preparation

Fortinet Training

Fortinet offers online, self-study and instructor led training. More information »

Find Authorized Training

Fortinet training is available worldwide through our network of training partners. More information »


Appointments can be made any time prior to 24 hours before your desired appointment time.

NDA Agreement

You will be required to agree to the NDA Agreement (PDF, 9 KB) that will be presented at the beginning of your exam. Failure to read/accept the agreement within the allotted 5 minutes will result in your exam ending and a forfeit of your exam fees. Please take a moment to review the agreement now so that you are familiar with it when you sit for your exam.

Security Measures for Pearson VUE Exams

Digital Photographs:

As part of Fortinet’s ongoing commitment to ensure the integrity and value of our certification program, Fortinet implemented advanced security measures at the Pearson VUE testing centers where their exams are administrated. The enhancement includes the taking of a digital photograph during the admissions process at the testing center. All Pearson VUE® Authorized Test Centers with the advanced security equipment installed will require photos at check-in.

If you have questions about these new security measures, please contact

Last updated 2017-04-24